Setting up subversion for Production and Beta/test site

EvanAgee

Greetings All,

I'm new to subversion, but I have it setup on my web server (MediaTemple.net) and I've been able to successfully create a repository, etc. My question is more about workflow.

So the situation is quite common, I have www.mywebsite.com that's the live/production version of my project and I have beta.mywebsite.com which is a test/development version of the same site. About 99% of the code base is the same for both sites but they're are some configuration variables that are different to keep them from interfering with each other.

My goal workflow is this:

1. Make an update on my local machine, commit those changes to beta...

2. Preview those changes on beta to make sure all is well

3. Pull (or update) those changes into www once I've verified that everything is good to go.

Could anyone give me a little help with how I would set this up? I'm not sure why it has been so confusing to this point.

It's confusing because there is no established standard way of handling this.  Different people have different ways of doing it.  One way is to have your beta and production be svn sandboxes.  Thus whenever you want to bring your latest changes in, you simply do an svn up.    The only downside to this is that you also have the svn cruft. 

I've seen elaborate systems using a combination of svnlook used in scripting up systems that find changes, and dump them into a staging directory, then use rsync to update the remote server.

One thing to defnately look at is precommit and postcommit hooks.  They can be used to do all sorts of things, like for example, in precommit, you could run php -l and disallow the commit if a php file has a syntax error.

Thanks Gizmola!