Running Total in a PHP table

Holoverse

Hi,

Im very new to php so this may seem like an ultra noob question but here it goes.

Ok Im pulling a date, and a percentage from a table with this code.

SELECT date, percent FROM unitprice WHERE unitprice > number

Then fetching the array, and I want to display it neatly in an HTML table.

BUT theres a catch.....

In a third column of this same table, I would like to insert a previously declared variable into the first cell of the 3rd column, and  then have this variable  multiply by the percent to its left, down the third column, like a running balance.

So basically I want the HTML table to display this....(rough values, obviously these would be decimals)

Date, Percentage, Balance

Feb 2      1.00        404

Feb 3      1.00        408

Feb 4      2.00        412

Feb 5      1.00        416

Where date and percentage came from a table called unitprice and the balance columns first cell came from a variable $original and then is multiplied by the percent for each row, running balance style.  Like a compound calculator kindof.

Is this too complicated to do

Thanks

I appreciate your reply, and it makes sense to me, but I also need the code for getting the first array into a table in the first place.

Like I mentioned, Im an absolute noob, that is trying to self learn.

So I need to know how to get my first columns, to echo into a table, and then have that third variable also echo into that table with the multiply applied.

So while to a regular experienced coder, your answer would be pretty self explanatory.

I just need a little more guidance as to how to ècho the table`so to speak.

And how to use this statement you provided in that code.

As right now, I have no clue where to place it really.

As far as my current `experience` on the matter goes right now.

All I know is that I need a while statement, to get my array to echo repeatedly into a table until its finished.