Recommendations Please

Goose87

Dear all,

I am posting here to receive some feedback from people who are interested in giving me some information and guidance.

I started learning how to code back in June 2007. I worked very hard at PHP and MySQL. I had some basic HTML knowledge at the time.. but I studied hard and have got to a pretty good level with PHP. I built my own online-game which I am still working on today (as I am still a student).

I am considering taking a gap-year after I finish my degree (in June this year) and I would like the following information from people:

If I spent 6 months studying hard and then 6 months of working on websites to create my dream game development business.. what languages would you recommend learning? I do not have huge skills in graphics design and I have had to outsource my css/html layout design to a third party.. so what would you recommend learning? I want to create high quality, text-based role playing browser games. I already have one, but I want a number of them.. so what do you think?

At the moment, I am considering improving my php skills to a very high level, then improving my mysql and database structure skills.. I will also look into more CSS and JavaScript. What is the best use of my time and how would you recommend doing it? I was thinking of buying about 15-20 text-books and going through those for 6 months. I'd then spend 6 months putting that knowledge into practice.

If you could all respond with a detailed reply and give as much information as possible I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks in advance for your help and assistance.

Goose.

I'd spend some time writing a business plan and actually researching if there is any money to be made with "text-based role playing browser games" before you dive in with all of the development. Because on the surface, it doesn't sound like there is.