long slow sql needs a better approach - newbie here :)

cdinca

SELECT grandtotal,maincategory,oof,underp,novice FROM 

( 
SELECT COUNT(this_database.atennis2) as grandtotal, 'tennis' as maincategory, ( SELECT COUNT(this_database.graduated) FROM this_database WHERE this_database.atennis2=1 AND (HAIR='R' OR HAIR='B' OR HAIR='CC' ) AND aca_type='Sport Academy' AND graduated='0') as underp, ( SELECT COUNT(this_database.NONLIC_tennis) FROM this_database WHERE this_database.atennis2=1 AND (HAIR='R' OR HAIR='B' OR HAIR='CC' ) AND aca_type='Sport Academy' AND NONLIC_tennis='1' AND graduated='1') as oof,( SELECT COUNT(this_database.NONLIC_tennis) FROM this_database WHERE this_database.atennis2=1 AND (HAIR='R' OR HAIR='B' OR HAIR='CC' ) AND aca_type='Sport Academy' AND NONLIC_tennis='0' AND graduated='1' AND newbie='0') as 'novice' FROM this_database WHERE this_database.atennis2=1 AND (HAIR='R' OR HAIR='B' OR HAIR='CC' ) AND aca_type='Sport Academy'  

UNION  

SELECT COUNT(this_database.atennis2) as grandtotal, 'soccerplayer' as maincategory, ( SELECT COUNT(this_database.graduated) FROM this_database WHERE this_database.asoccer2=1 AND (HAIR='R' OR HAIR='B' OR HAIR='CC' ) AND aca_type='Sport Academy' AND graduated='0') as underp, ( SELECT COUNT(this_database.NONLIC_soccer) FROM this_database WHERE this_database.asoccer2=1 AND (HAIR='R' OR HAIR='B' OR HAIR='CC' ) AND aca_type='Sport Academy' AND NONLIC_soccer='1' AND graduated='1') as oof,( SELECT COUNT(this_database.NONLIC_soccer) FROM this_database WHERE this_database.asoccer2=1 AND (HAIR='R' OR HAIR='B' OR HAIR='CC' ) AND aca_type='Sport Academy' AND NONLIC_soccer='0' AND graduated='1' AND newbie='0') as 'novice' FROM this_database WHERE this_database.asoccer2=1 AND (HAIR='R' OR HAIR='B' OR HAIR='CC' ) AND aca_type='Sport Academy'  

UNION