Looking for imput. Site design infastructure and security questions.

loadobject

Im looking for ideas and input on the given work bellow. any help is great, 4 lines or 4 pages is all appreciated.

To start with i would like to make a few notes before i get to the discussion:

1. I am not 12 and asking how to build a website.

2. I have a degree in psychology, i do not have a COOL idea, i have a business model.

3. I am technologically inclined i will not make your brain hurt just talking to me. Hopefully.

This post is basically to get an idea on what i need and want in the given site. I have a wealth of knowledge in technology but web programing is not a sub category.

First of the site purpose:

1. user input based.

2. input is filed and linked with other user input.

3. input is able to be searched and edited.

4. each input has a variety of sub groups and classifications.

5. the site will eventually be used by a very large community.

The basics is a very large database that will be searched edited and searched again by a "a metric butt load" of people. The idea being gaining information on said items in a timely manner.

The question:

I know basics on web development but what i don't know is what i need.

What type of server would i need, who would you suggest? (all data transfer will be text)

What type of programs need to be running on this server?

What should i have as the core language for this system?

Is there a pre made program set up that is already available for this type of site or would i need to hire someone?

What type of set up would i need if i would want to make my site secure, i would like to be credible. A secure database ... go figure.

What should i do for trauma management. ie attacks breakages and what not.