I think this is an AJAX function...

cmattoon

Hey all,

I'm brand new to PHP/SQL, and haven't really gotten into AJAX/JavaScript yet.

I have my own server, running PHP and MySQL, and one of the pages brings up information about area hospitals. (Capacity, services, helicopter pad (BOOL), helo pad lat/long, contact information, etc). I have a summary page that shows the most important information, and I would like to receive updates from another site: (hospitalstatus.emsi.org)

This website is operated by the region and shows the status (Open, Delay, Closed, etc) for each hospital.

Is there a way to collect this data on my own, without having direct access to their server? Some way to scan the HTML and gather data?

From "View Source", this is the code. The ID numbers are static, so I could reference them in my code

<TD CLASS="alt" NOWRAP>
<A HREF="hosp_log.cfm?id=15">AGH - Suburban Campus</A></TD>
<TD>  	<FONT COLOR="GREEN">OPEN  </TD>
<TD NOWRAP>04/04/07 08:55  </TD>

Thanks!

Is Regex the "really complicated and seldom used because it's so difficult to understand" part of PHP that I skipped over? lol :-\

No. It's somewhat complicated and often used part of programming that you skipped over. ;)

That was a paraphrased quote from the O'Rielly PHP book that I got...lol

Someone on another board helped me with this regex, but the problem is I get an "unexpected modifier: ")"" error. I've tried escaping all \\ and have done things like:

$regex = "<a....z]*)"; 
preg_match_all('$regex',$url,$result); // with and without single quotes
--Causes "Unexpected T_STRING" error..

New Regex: 
preg_match_all('<a\b((?!\bid\s*=|>).)*id\s*=(\d+)[^>([^<]*).*?<font\b[^>]*>([a-z]*)',$url,$result);

Any ideas??

I had a much simpler regex at one point, but

"echo $result[x];" (where X stands for anything I try to put in there)