Discrepancy between my ClickCounter and target AWstats

MarkHoward

I have a website with advertising panels each fed through phpClickCounter.

I have been using this for 4 months and have discovered that ClickCounter is counting about 3 times as many clicks as the target sites' cPanel>AWStats is recording.

Can anyone suggest how this might be happening?

Which is more likely to be correct?

Hi Daniel

Why would AWStats think that a click-through from my site was a web-crawler?

If it DOES for some reason think that for some clicks from my site, why not all of them?

I didn't make it clear that I was referring to AWStats "referrer" figures from my specific site.

I'm sorry, I not experienced at this.

My website has a link to an advertiser's site.

When a user on my site clicks on the link the click gets directed through a ClickCounter on my site and thence onto the advertiser's site.  Each click increments a counter on my site's ClickCounter.

After a month, my clickcounter has recorded a total of, say, 30 clicks on that link.

Now

On the advertiser's site he looks at cPanels' AWStats to see how many referrals he's had from my website's address at the end of the month and AWStats says there has been only 10.

Not sure where "rel=no follow" comes into the above.

On the advertiser's site he looks at cPanels' AWStats

Do not take AWSTATS figures as gospel. As Daniel stated there are all kinds of crawlers that can follow links. They may not always initiate your counter script, and weblog stats applications are each configured differently in the way they log traffic.

OK, you say you have a counter that has 30 clicks and the target user has 10 logs of your website as a referer. Well lets say that 21 of those are a referer from the same search engine and only 9 are true human users, then the stats program may only log unique referers by IP, user-agent, etc so a total of 10 is displayed.