Updating Offline System - Ideas Needed Please

poddys

I am fairly new to PHP/Javascript, so please bear with me...

We have a system that is written in PHP, but for some employees that work in China, where connection to the internet is not always good, there is a cut down offline version of the system that they use on their laptops, uploading to the main system when they can.

We don't have a way to update this offline system right now, and I would like to try to include a check when a user logs in to the online system, to see if the offline system is installed on their pc (test for a local file/folder), and to give them the option of downloading updates.

With PHP being server side, I am not sure what the best way to do this is, and I am all Googled out trying to find an answer.

Any suggestions as to which way to proceed would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Tony

There is no way that this can be achieved using PHP. You would require some kind of ActiveX control or Java Applet with Java installed on the user PC's

test for a local file/folder

If websites could access the contents of a users pc can you imagine the consequences.

Agreed, the security aspect could be a BIG issue.

Could the server program execute a PHP program on the PC using a "localhost" url?

That way the user could click on a link  on the "online" system, which would call an install program, which is already on the offline/local system, and that would download files from the server and install them.

Is that feasible, without having to learn all about Active X controls and Java?

Appreciate the help.

Could the server program execute a PHP program on the PC using a "localhost" url?

No. 'localhost' is a loopback address to 127.0.0.1 which is itself (the server where the script executes). There is no bridge between server & pc.