REGEX FOR EMAIL ADDRESS

hype_rain

Hi,

I looked at the other posts on this subject, but due to fact that I am new to this and it is difficult to determine if some of the solutions are on point with my issue and I don't want to start extracting pieces of code that "look like" they could be the answer (thereby confusing myself even further), I just thought I would keep it simple, show you guys what I got, tell you what I want, and listen and learn.

I want to code regular expressions for email addresses.

Here is what I am using for basic validation

$val = new Zend_Validate_EmailAddress();

if (!$val->isValid($_POST['email'])) {

$errors['email'] = 'Use a valid email address';

}

I don't know if Zend qualifies as "third party", because I don't know if that refers to frameworks. If it belongs in another forum, please move it and I will get  the message and follow the thread (if any) accordingly.

Kindly,

Hype

Zend_Validate_EmailAddress() is definately part of the Zend framework, so you posted this in the right place.  I don't know why you would consider this a regex question however, since this is a zend framework built-in that you don't need to understand to use.  I guess you're basically accepting that the people who coded it fully understand and have implemented the relative RFC's not to mention the active state of acceptable top level domains.  Since you're using the isValid() method, here's what the code actually is for that in the version of ZF I have local to me:

public function isValid($value)
    {
        if (!is_string($value)) {
            $this->_error(self::INVALID);
            return false;
        }

$matches = array();
        $length  = true;
        $this->_setValue($value);

// Split email address up and disallow '..'
        if ((strpos($value, '..') !== false) or
            (!preg_match('/^(.+)@([^@]+)$/', $value, $matches))) {
            $this->_error(self::INVALID_FORMAT);
            return false;
        }