Content Management System design with OOP

DeadxBeat

Hello Everyone,

First off, I read the sticky, this is not a question about OOP but rather a question about design with OOP in mind.

With that said, lets get to it.

I'm a programmer with a good understanding of PHP and how to use it, I'm relatively new to using OOP but picked up on it quick. I'm trying to develop a content management system using OOP instead of just using an include file with a bunch of unorginized functions.

My question is a matter of opinion, I'm just looking for ideas on what classes I should make and for what.

So far, I've written the following classes down on a piece of paper:

Database Class(Load db variables, connect to db)

User Class(Add users, remove users, verify users, load user variables, session initiation)

News Class(Add news, delete news, modify news)

Admin Class(Modify User permissions)

Module Class(add module, remove module)

CMS Class(Display Navigation, Display News, Display Modules)

Do these seem like adequite classes with good functions also what else would you recommend adding to make a basic CMS. The thing I'm really stuck on is if I should use CMS Class to display everything or if i should include things like Display News in the news class and display modules in the module class.

Any ideas / sugguestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Daniel.

Splitting up your code into modules is a good idea, you cannot go wrong doing this. Are you using a templating system such as Twig or Smarty?

I'm really stuck on is if I should use CMS Class to display everything or if i should include things like Display News in the news class and display modules in the module class.

I don't understand, show some code.

No template, I want this all to be very basic and structured by myself.

What I meant by me being stuck is that I can't decide what functions should go where.