Please HELP! SQL Nigtmare

ppwalks

Hello,

I am new to php programming and one obstacle has got me stuck now for several days and driving me insain, please if someone could point me in the right direction i would be ever so grateful. As part of a project at college I have been given an assignment to post data to sql database and then retrieve all the fields and output them to page, all is well up to now.

i have made the form which successfully submits data to sql and i have been able to the echo the appropraite variables back to page. The problem I have is when I submit the form it sends all fields, if I wanted to only change 2 fields then it would overwrite the whole thing then display the 2 fields inserted only, i want it to display the data before the new row has NULL atributes in them. Please can somebody help!

Thankyou

Paul

To easier explain I have a normal table is in MyISAM format with  4 fields, metaTag, metaDesc, pageTitle & pageContent each in there own column, i have placed a form on the back end of the website which has input fields to pass the value to each table row.

A form example which is in its own include;

<form action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'];?>" method="post"/>
		 <label>Page Title</label><input type="text" id="meta-data" name="home_title"/>
         <span class="example">Example: Company Name LTd, "main Service"..</span>
        <label>Home Page Text</label><textarea class="body-text" name="home_text"></textarea><input type="submit" value="Update" id="home-update" name="home_update"/>
        </form>

Then from the form it will send to database like so;

if (isset($_POST['home_update']))
				{ mysql_select_db("barryjam_cms");

$sql="INSERT INTO cms (pageTitle, pageText) VALUES ('$_POST[home_title]', '$_POST[home_text]')";

if (!mysql_query($sql))
  							{
  								$error =('Error: ' . mysql_error());
  							}
								 else
							$result_home = "updated";