datetime field

ahmedmii

Hello,

I'm new in php and mysql too. The problem is the working hours is 9h starts from 7 to 16  . I need to do is decreament is the time 24h from the time in datetime field and for everydecreamnet increase the date. For example

2011-01-08 13:00:00

when I read it from database I want it like this frist time

end time which is 16:00:00 -13:00:00=3 date++. Now 24-3=21 and continue like this

how can I implement it?

Well, I've field datetime so, the work starts at 7 and ends at 16 so,working hours is 9hours .For example

value in the field is 2001-01-29 8:00:00 .The fucntion needs to send email after 24 working hours so, like this

since the work ends at 16 .It'll be like this 16:00:00-8:00:00 =8:00:00 ,then the first day finish so,increament date++ ,then we see how much hours left 24:00:00-8:00:00=16:00:00 ,then the second day 16:00:00-9:00:00(work day hours)=8:00:00 ,then ,increament date++, then we see how much hours left 16:00:00-8:00:00=8:00:00 ,then the thrid day 9:00:00-8:00:00=one hour the send email.

I HOPE IT'S CLEAR NOW.

THANK YOU

So you are starting work at 7, and ending work at 16 , and you want to send an email after 24 hours worked?

I couldn't think of a way to explain how to do it, and there may even be a better way, but this may help you.  Fully commented up.

<?php

$database_date = '2011-01-08 13:00:00'; //this comes from your database, 
$updated_time = strtotime('+' . hoursLeft($database_date) . ' hours',strtotime($database_date)); //Handle the date:
$new_date = date('m-d-Y, H:i:s',$updated_time); //this is when the email should be sent.

echo date('m-d-Y, H:i:s',strtotime($database_date)) . '<br />' . $new_date . '<-- you should be emailing at this time!'; //just echo's it to the screen.

function hoursLeft($time) { //this function handles the count of how many hours you need to fulfill your task.

////////Editable variables /////////////////////////////
$work_starts = 7; //start time;
$work_ends = 16;  //end time;