Series of allowed strings when replacing element

a123123

Hello. Lets find some random string that I need to replace, ex. # ab . cd $. And I want to change # to 3 and $ to 4 only if it is in this form of string. I write rexexp pattern:

'/#(.*)(.)(.*)($)/'

and replacement:

but why the whole string is replaced to 3, not only #? How can I change my string to 3 ab . cd $?

Hey. I need to replace one particular sign only if it is part of specified string. In this case it is:

# ab . cd $

where ab, cd are any random string, and there is dot which divides them. So if I had a string # abcd, without dot and $, it should not change. But if it is like

# ab . cd $

# changes into 3. This what I got was changing the whole string to 3, but I need 3 ab . cd $ - how can I do it?

:psychic: You really need to show the code you are using to do the replacement. I suspect it is the replacement part that you have not coded correctly.

By the way, I am not an expert at regular expressions, but that regexp will match your example string, it will also match stuff that does not fit your stated requirements.

'/#(.*)(.)(.*)($)/'

says:

• string starts with a literal "#"
  • any number of any character (including NO characters at all)
  • any single character
  • any number of any character (including NO characters at all)
  • a literal "$"

I would think something like this would do it:

'/#(.+\..+$)/'

Thanks for all the answers. The code I am using is:

<?php
$patterns = array('/(?<!e)abcd/');
$replacements = array('abcde');
$string=$_POST['link'];
echo preg_replace($patterns, $replacements, $string);
?>

and when I have negation on the beginning of the string, it is good, becaise when I have string ex. habcd, it changes to habcde, and h is remaining. But if I place it on the end of the string, ex. abcd(?<!e), string like abcdh changes to abcde, while I need abcdeh (h not disappearing). I hope that it will be more clear now.

What is ~ and ? for in this code?