how to set up the table structure to do date ranges searches?

GridCube

Hello, I'm very new to mysql and php, and whatnot, so I proposed myself to create this page:

http://gridcube.netii.net/test/XTCv2.html

As it was my idea I learned to do everything you see there by myself, the problem is that i don't really have a search "engine", so I was trying to make one now, and it turned out that I created a very bad table structure;

:~$ mysql --version
mysql  Ver 14.14 Distrib 5.1.49, for debian-linux-gnu (i486) using readline 6.1

::::

mysql> explain NewTestsTable
    -> ;
+-----------+--------------+------+-----+---------+----------------+
| Field     | Type         | Null | Key | Default | Extra          |
| ID        | int(5)       | NO   | PRI | NULL    | auto_increment |
| YEAR      | varchar(4)   | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
| MONTH     | varchar(10)  | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
| DAY       | varchar(2)   | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
| CYCLE     | varchar(15)  | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
| NICK      | varchar(15)  | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
| TESTS     | varchar(30)  | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
| STATUS    | varchar(4)   | NO   |     | NULL    |                |
| Comm_Bugs | varchar(256) | YES  |     | NULL    |                |
9 rows in set (0.00 sec)

as you can see Year, Month, and Day are in separated rows, I did this because it was easier for me to do

$day = date("d");
$month = date("F");
$sql = "select DAY,MONTH,$cols from $table_name where DAY = '$day' && MONTH ='$month'"; 

(sorry for the php code, i though it was relevant)

to show daily results, which works perfectly.

But I wan't to be able to see tests by groups of "last 7 days" "last 30 days", also give a basic search engine to allow users to search for particular testcases, or even particular dates, those last two are easy, but the dates ranges are the problems