User only links?

melloorr

Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to php and I have created a basic login page on my site. It checks whether someone is logged in by searching for a cookie.

But I am wondering if there is a simple way to display content an link to only people who are logged in, and show user specific content based on who is logged it (much like forums - but not as complicated, just simple)

Thank you and its very much appreciated :)

need to use sessions, rather than only cookies.

basic example:

<?php 
session_start(); // start the session (needs to be at the top of each page(before output) that requires some kind of tracking, such as check user is logged in

$_SESSION['userid'] = $_POST['userid']; // this is how you would log in a user, use a form to submit their ID or whatever you uniquely identify them by

if(isset($_SESSION['userid'])) { // check they are logged in, if yes show the link and content
   echo "logged in";
} else {
  echo "not logged in"; // if not logged in, can redirect them to login page or something
}

?>

of course you need to add all the security as well.

You could simply do what RaythMistwalker mentioned:

If ($_COOKIE['COOKIE_NAME']) {
   Member Only Data Here
}

Most simplist way.

depends on what kind of content you're trying to hide from people that aren't suppose to be able to see it, cookies are easily manipulated.

Thanks for all the help. I am mainly using it so I can display the logout link if someone is logged in, and the login link if no-one is logged in, and also to show the logged in user their specific link (i.e. YouTube shows the link to my profile at the top of the page)

(Sorry if I have not explained it well)

This is the cookie code I have used:

$_POST['username'] = stripslashes($_POST['username']); 

$hour = time() + 3600; 

setcookie(ID_my_site, $_POST['username'], $hour); 

setcookie(Key_my_site, $_POST['pass'], $hour);	

Taken from here: http://php.about.com/od/finishedphp1/ss/php_login_code_5.htm