How do I display questions from checkboxes?

sonnieboy

Dear Experts,

I am an absolute newbie; please be patient with me.

I have a variable called $app['chk'].

This variable has 6 questions with checkboxes.

What I have been tasked to do is to print the answer or answers that a user has selected.

For instance, if a user selects the first checkbox, I am to say, echo "you selected choice 1"

Here is my sample code below:

{
echo '<div class="question">Please select one or more answers from the checkboxes below. </div>';
if ($app['chk1'] == '1') {echo '	<div class="a">you selected choice 1</div>';}
if ($app['chk2'] == '2') {echo '	<div class="a">you selected choice 2</div>';}
if ($app['chk3'] == '3') {echo '	<div class="a">you selected choice 3</div>';}
if ($app['chk4'] == '4') {echo '	<div class="a">you selected choice 4</div>';}
if ($app['chk5'] == '5') {echo '	<div class="a">you selected choice 5</div>';} 
if ($app['chk6'] == '6') {echo '	<div class="a">you selected choice 6</div>';} 

}

This part is fine. What I am having problem is how to code it if user checks 2 checkboxes or more.

I hope my question is not too confusing and thanks in advance for your assistance.

It's exactly what you want. In your form, you name the related checkboxes the same thing with square brackets. So like,

<input type="checkbox" name="chk[]" value="1" />
<input type="checkbox" name="chk[]" value="2" />
<input type="checkbox" name="chk[]" value="3" />
<input type="checkbox" name="chk[]" value="4" />
<input type="checkbox" name="chk[]" value="5" />
<input type="checkbox" name="chk[]" value="6" />

Now in PHP, $_POST['chk'] will be an array of all clicked-on checkboxes. So you could loop through them and echo them out like this:

foreach($_POST['chk'] as $chk)
{
     echo 'You selected choice ' . $chk . '<br />';
}

First of all xyph, sorry I didn't see your link. I appreciate it.

scootstah, thank you for explaining it better.