query issue

dd_gamer

I'm hoping someone can help with my problem... The query (below) runs on my Localhost (laptop) but when I upload to the "live" server it can't finish without an error. The server has many many more records in it so I my code needs to be streamlined or improved...

If anyone can show an example of a better way to do this query please help! I'm new to Mysql...

Here is the query:

SELECT DISTINCT CAST(studentrecord_daily.record_date as Date) AS academic_date, 
studentrecord_daily.student_id, 
CAST(schedule_room.scheduledate as Date) AS schedule_date, 
rc.rc_period_id, 
rc.start_date, 
rc.end_date, 
schedules.id, 
schedules.gf, 
schedules.schedule_desc, 
schedule_room.scheduleid 

FROM 
schedule_room, 
studentrecord_daily, 
rc, 
schedules 

WHERE studentrecord_daily.student_id = '3' AND 
rc.rc_period_id = '27' AND
studentrecord_daily.record_date >= rc.start_date AND 
studentrecord_daily.record_date <= rc.end_date AND
CAST(studentrecord_daily.record_date as Date) = CAST(schedule_room.scheduledate as Date) AND
schedules.id =schedule_room.scheduleid

The error is a standard Server 500 error and the page keeps processing until "timeout"!

Not sure how to run query in phpMyAdmin...

click the SQL button on the top nav of the interface, and paste your query in it.. this may not be a query issue, what other code do you have on the page in question?

Thanks! I did what you said and used phpmyAdmin... the query took too long... before timeout so I increased the time limit and it took 90 seconds to run but it did run on my Local machine! The "live" server has many more records for the query to search so I'm wondering what are my options are because it will time out!