Global Variables - Understanding

I am new to php programming and I am having trouble understanding global variables. I understand that hey differ in from local variables in that they are accessible from all parts of the code,.i.e. functions, classes, etc.

But for how long do these variables remain available (for use) to other parts of the code?

A. Only available until after all related php pages have been executed/loaded.

B. Available for any other php pages subsequently loaded/executed on the same site. Available for the life of the site connection.

Thanks for your help

I am new to php programming and I am having trouble understanding global variables. I understand that hey differ in from local variables in that they are accessible from all parts of the code,.i.e. functions, classes, etc.

Actually no.

There are two types of variables: superglobal variables and normal variables. The superglobals are true "global" variables; they are $_POST, $_GET, $_SESSION, and the other similar $_ arrays. They are accessible absolutely everywhere. Note that you cannot define your own superglobals. Everything else is just a normal variable.

There are two levels of variable scope: function (inside a function) and file (outside a function). When you define a variable in one it's available to everything else afterwards but only while in the same scope. Variables outside a function are not available inside a function, and vice versa. This also includes nested functions such as closures.

There are three exceptions to these rules.

1. Inside a function you can access a variable defined in the file scope with the "global" keyword or the $GLOBALS array (which is a superglobal). This is strongly discouraged.

2. Class functions can access class variables by using $this. Technically this isn't an exception but it looks like one.

3. Closures (aka anonymous functions) can access variables defined immediately outside it with the "use" keyword.