PHP / Expressions / Regex / Help!

FiremanSam

Hey all,

Wondering maybe someone can help me out, I am training to be a firefighter (I am not a coder) and am writing a little script for my local volunteer fire brigade to try help em out a little and I am stuck! It doesn't do much but grab the address out of a pager message but I have searched and tried a few ways to get this and now I am tired and just can't get my head around how to do this! Let me explain,

Below are 2 pager alert messages and I have a sore head of a time trying to extract the address and job details of the second message into a php string using Expressions/Regex...

Here are 2 example messages:

0571040 15:45:21 30-04-12  @@ALERT F546356345 THEB8 STRUC1 SMELL OF SMOKE AND ALARM OPERATING 900 SOME ROAD SOMESUBURB /CROSSSTREET1 RD //CROSSTREET2 AV M 99 A1 (429085) CTHEB CBOROS PT28 [THEB]

0571040 15:45:21 30-04-12  @@ALERT F546356345 THEB8 STRUC1 SMELL OF SMOKE AND ALARM OPERATING 4 / 900 SOME ROAD SOMESUBURB /CROSSSTREET1 RD //CROSSTREET2 AV M 99 A1 (429085) CTHEB CBOROS PT28 [THEB]

You will note the second address has 4 / 900 at the start or it could say Unit 4 / 900... and this is where my issue starts! The addresses can come in the 2 different formats, I have first one sorted with the code below but this address with no 4 / 900 some road just has me and my code below stumped. The extra / is just to complex a thing for me and my brain to handle! lol Please Help! :)

As you can see I use the first slash as the first cross street but in the second case above the first / is now a part of the address... Below is what I have so far:

function get_string_between2($string, $start, $end){
    $string = " ".$string;
    $ini = strpos($string,$start);
    if ($ini == 0) return "";
    $ini += strlen($start);
    $len = strpos($string,$end,$ini) - $ini;
    return substr($string,$ini,$len);
}

$fullstring = "$rawPage";

if ( strpos($fullstring, ' STRUC1 ')!== false )
{