Database /logic / code re-design

Andy-H

Hi, I work as a junior web developer for a fleet tracking company, we are trying to normalise all of our data and need to completely re-design our database, which means re-programming most of the backbone of the business, and we want to get it right this time.

At the moment we have decided that location data from both GPRS and SMS based units needs to be stored in a normalised, central database and we will read/write to this via API calls (the data will probably be returned as JSON).

I want to get round to the MVC way of doing things so that extending and changing the functionality of the API in the future will be easier, but at the moment we are still designing the database.

So we will have a units table (units currently all run via SIM card (either SMS/GPRS based) but in the future we may use units that don't have telephone numbers.

Currently we have:

units:
unit_ID(PK_AI)
type (VARCHAR)

unit_info
unit_ID (FK)
key(VARCHAR)
value(VARCHAR)

LatLng
LatLng_ID (PK_AI)
lat (FLOAT(10,6))
lng(FLOAT(10,6))

addresses
LatLng_ID (FK)
formatted_address (VARCHAR)
street_number (VARCHAR)
street_name (VARCHAR)
town (VARCHAR)
city (VARCHAR)
postcode (VARCHAR)
postcode_prefix (VARCHAR)
country (VARCHAR)
country_code (VARCHAR)

Is there anything anyone can see that's wrong with this database structure?

<?php
/**
* LatLng
* This class stores a Latitude and Longitude and provides methods to 
* set / retrieve the Latitude and Longitude and compare distance, bearing etc between.
* @version 1.0
* @package LatLng
*/
namespace Location;

class LatLng {
   /**
   * Stores the latitude of LatLng
   * @access private
   * @var float
   */
   private $_lat;
   /**
   * Stores the longitude of LatLng
   * @access private
   * @var float
   */
   private $_lng;

/**
   * LatLng::__construct
   * Sets internal latitude and longitude of LatLng object being instantiated
   * @param float $lat Valid latitude, must be between -90 and 90