PDF File Viewer/Search Bar

Seapoeschl

Hello,

I am currently working on an intranet website for the company I work at. I know more about Graphic Design then coding, so you can say I'm new to php code. The site is going to be used to let users log on and submit/view pdf files that are stored on the site. I have everything else created for the site(data form to build pdf, upload form, etc.), but I can't seem to figure out how to let the users view the files. I want to create a page where they can use a search bar to find the certain file that is stored in the files folder.

I have tried using the dir() and scandir() commands but they just list the files and are not able to open them. I don't want to hard code the .PDF files on a page since they will be constantly changing and being added. Is there a way to have these files be displayed (like a link) and have a search bar to be able to search through them to find the correct one needed?

Thanks,

Seattle

This is the current code that I have for the display page.

<?php
//Open images directory
$dir = dir("TestUpload");

//List files in images directory
while (($file = $dir->read()) !== true)
{
echo "filename: " . $file . "<br />";
}

$dir->close();
?>

I attached a photo of what shows up in the browser. I want to be able to be able to click on the file name and have it open. Also have a search bar that will look through that Folder and find the file that matches the search.

post-134449-1348240358427_thumb.jpg

I think I am a little bit confused about what you mean by wrapping with an html link. I have done it before where I would just hard code each file to the page by doing something like this:

<a href="pdf/Newsletter_Spring_2012.pdf" target="_blank">Pioneer Xpress Newsletter - Spring 2012</a>

How would I type the code so each file will have a link without having to hand code a new link every time a file is added?

Unless I'm missing something..

echo "filename: <a href='$file'>" . $file . "</a><br />";