Custom CMS, Caching and login questions

Hi,

I'm doing my first serious website and I have some questions regarding best practices. I have some experience programming, but not much web programming / php.

The project consist of a dynamic website managed by a custom CMS. There is no user input required other than the login to the CMS.

1. Login

I was wondering if my method of managing login is correct. Only 3-4 users will have to login to the CMS. I have an authentification function:

public static function authenticate($username, $password){

try {

$dbh = new PDO("mysql:host=localhost;dbname=myDB", $username, $password);

$dbh = null;

return 1;

}

catch(PDOException $e){

$dbh = null;

return 0;

}

}

If the connection does not generate an exception, I return 1 to a "loggedIn" variable(session).

When the user is logged in, I use a generic user to do the queries(opening and closing the connection after each query).

Is this viable?

2. Caching

I cache all the website. The homepage in 1 file, and individual articles in separate files. If I add a news article for example, it will create a html file (news_2.html). When a user clicks on an article link, I just redirect to a page and include the html file in a <div>.  The website won't be updated very often, so I think this will do the job? :shrug:

public static function authenticate($username, $password){
         try {
            $dbh = new PDO("mysql:host=localhost;dbname=myDB", $username, $password);
            $dbh = null;
            return 1;
         }
         catch(PDOException $e){
            $dbh = null;
            return 0;
         }
      }

You should validate the user against a db table not as a db user.

class Users {
  private $_pdo;
  public function __construct(PDO $driver) {
    $this->_pdo = $driver;
  }
  public function authenticate($user, $pass) {
    $sql = 'SELECT * FROM users WHERE username = ? AND password = ?';
    $stmt = $this->_pdo->prepare($sql);