Using PHP to rename files based on MYSQL query

jpaek1

Hello,

I am a novice with PHP so what I am trying to do may be easy to do, but I just don't understand how to get it into PHP script to work properly as I mostly work with Javascript.

I have a directory on a server with files in it.  I have a database on the same server with the same number of entries that there are files in the directory.  Essentially, what I want to do is rename all of the files in the directory based on the results of the MYSQL query.  I don't really need help with the query itself or the rename function, but rather how to get it to work together using while/for/foreach loops or such.

The problem I'm having is how to tell the script to change each file name only once per mysql row return then do it until there are no more entries.

The current code I have that works (but doesn't do what I want) is:

$dir = '/home/test/';
$files1 = scandir($dir);

$res = mysql_query("SELECT number from test where date = '2012-07-26'  group by number order by date, time");
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($res)){
$name = $row['number'];
foreach($files1 as $file1) {
	if (!(is_dir($file1))) {
		rename('/home/test'.$file1, '/home/test'.$name.'.JPG');
	}
}
}

Again, I know the code is wrong, just looking for pointers on doing it the right way.

Thanks.

Ah... Re-reading the code I see I missed out on some details, sorry about that.

Considering what I previously missed, it seems like you want to take the first element from the $files1 array, rename it to the first result from the MySQL query. Then take the next element, rename it to the next number, and so forth.

If that's the case, then you'll want to look at  array_shift () instead of foreach () and continue;.

Ah... Re-reading the code I see I missed out on some details, sorry about that.