Code wont work on migrated server

ozzwald

Hi,

I have migrated a website from 5.2.6 to 5.3.13 due to the web developer going awol.

After many different hosts, I have found one that has PEAR, MDB2 etc that the site needs. The only problem that I can see is the newer version of PHP wont run the code.

I have very little experience in PHP!!!!

I believe this is the code bringin up the error:

$dsn = 'mysql://' . DATABASE_USER . ':' . DATABASE_PASS . '@' . DATABASE_HOST . '/' . DATABASE_BASE;

Database::get()->data =& MDB2::connect($dsn);

// put this code just after initializing db connection (i.e. after MDB2::connect) to hide plain text password

for ($__i = 0; $__i < count($GLOBALS['_MDB2_databases']); $__i++) {

$GLOBALS['_MDB2_databases'][$__i]->dsn['password'] = '* hidden *';

$GLOBALS['_MDB2_databases'][$__i]->connected_dsn['password'] = '* hidden *';

}

if (PEAR::isError(Database::get()->data)) {

die('Error calling script. connect.php line ~14');

}

Apart from some Deprecated warnings i get when I allow all errors, I am getting the 'Error calling script. connect.php line ~14'

The site is based on templates, so has many include files.

Many thanks in advance.

The error is most likely stored within the Database class, and should be retrieved from it.

Though, I must say that using only static methods like this is usually not a good sign for your application design and/or understanding of OOP. You might want to rethink this approach, but it's unfortunately far too little code for me to say for certain. At least it's something to keep in mind.

PS: Please use the

tags around your code, as it helps make both your post and your code a lot easier to read.

Hi,

Thanks for the pointer.

Here is the class.database.php file:

<?php

require_once 'MDB2.php';

class Database {

public $data;

private static $instance;

public static function get(){

if (!isset(self::$instance)) {

$c = __CLASS__;
            self::$instance = new $c;

}

return self::$instance;

}