Proper Format

dpiearcy

I'm still learning mysqli (obviously).

Can someone give me the proper format for the following?

$query = mysqli_query($myConnection, "INSERT INTO table WHERE id='$pid' LIMIT 1(how, date)

VALUES('$var', now()) ") or die (mysqli_error($myConnection));

Just wanting to update here and not write a new row hence why I need to match the id.

You need an UPDATE, not an INSERT

UPDATE tablename
SET how = '$var', date=NOW()
WHERE id=$pid LIMIT 1

If the is unique you don't need the LIMIT 1.

WHAT button do I push to insert code like you did? I've tried a few of them and haven't figured that out on here yet either :-) I want to do things correctly after all. I know this was off topic but thought I'd ask.

I'm going to try that and see if it works. Thanks for the reply.

Thanks for that Christian F.

Ok... not even going to bother changing table names and var names this time. This still does not work. I'm no longer getting an error but from php myadmin I see nothing has changed in the database.

Here is what I used as per Barand.

$query = mysqli_query($myConnection, "UPDATE prayer SET how = '$praise', date=NOW() WHERE id=$pid") or die (mysqli_error($myConnection));

Tried single quotes around the var pid to no effect as well just to check.

I should say (not sure if it matters) but the row ''how" has nothing in it until this point. The other rows are filled out except for how and then I want the current date. From the former insert I have the date of original insert. I want the date now so I can have both so I have two different rows for that.

Short and simple, this is a prayer request board for a church I'm helping. Have their request board working but I want them to hit a button when prayer is answered. That's the how part coming from a form that says how it all happened. Then I show on a different board answered prayer with the original request, the how, the original posted date and then the answered date.