Else parse Error :'( Please Help

simpso

HI everyone

I am currently attempting to input the below code which will work when a user clicks on a link, however i am getting a parse else error when i insert the Insert into line.

Anyone got any ideas, im sure is something simple but im new to this.

Thanks

<?php do { ?>

<a href="AddToCartTest.php?id=<?php echo $row_ItemsList['ID']; ?>"><?php echo $row_ItemsList['ID']; ?>

<?php if(isset($_COOKIE['CartID']))

$CartID= $_COOKIE['CartID'];

mysql_query("INSERT INTO 'cart' ('User_ID') VALUES ('$CartID')");

else

setcookie('CartID',RAND());

mysql_query("INSERT INTO 'cart' ('User_ID') VALUES ('$CartID')"); ?> </a>

<p>

You only posted 9 lines of code. So, either there is more code - in which case you should have pointed out which one is line 69 - or the error is in a different file.

But, as Jessica pointed out you don't have containing curly braces around the code for your if/else conditions.

For an IF statement, it is valid to have the condition followed by a SINGLE statement without any grouping. But, if you have multiple statements to go with a condition you must create a statement group. Also, it is not valid (pretty sure) to have an ELSE statement without some type of structure to separate the code appropriately.

I suggest you take a look at the following three pages in the manual (they are not long):

http://php.net/manua...ructures.if.php

http://php.net/manua...ctures.else.php

http://php.net/manua...ures.elseif.php

Also, you have an error in your query - table/field names should be enclosed in BACK quotes, not strait quotes.Values/strings should be enclosed in strait quotes. But, you don't need to enclose table/field names in quotes unless they are reserved words or contain characters such as a space - but you shoudl avoid those anyways.

mysql_query("INSERT INTO `cart` (`User_ID`) VALUES ('$CartID')");

Edited by Psycho