Soft 404 Header Response

BishBashBosh

Hi,

I am a bit of a noob when it comes to PHP so please bear with me. I can edit a bit, but I find it a bit trickier to write and I need a bit of advice.

I manage a website for a friend of mine and they have had the site coded in PHP. I noticed that the site content was loading up correctly but Google is telling me that the pages cannot be found in Webmaster Tools. Upon investigation, I found that there was a 400 header response being served on every page via the header.php file:

$found=0;

$conn = connectToDatabase();

$results = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM pages WHERE url = '$current_page';", $conn) or die("Error while running query:<br /><br />".mysql_error());

if(($result = mysql_fetch_array($results)) != NULL)

{$found=1;

$meta_desc=$result['meta_desc'];

$meta_keywords=$result['meta_keywords'];

$header_title=$result['title'];}

if ($found==0) {header('HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found');}

As I mention, I am no genius when it comes to PHP, but I changed the {header('HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found');} to {header('HTTP/1.0 200 Ok');} which solved the indexing issue for the pages within Google. However, I now have an issue with soft 404 errors whereby the error page is displayed for incorrect URL's, but they return a 200 response code. I am guessing that my change (although it papered the crack) was not the correct course of action. I have looked at other posts with similar issues but I have not been able to solve the issue. Can somebody point me in the right direction please?

Thanks for your patience in advance.

By the way: PHP will send a 200 OK by default so you don't actually have to specify that.

Also by the way: when posting PHP code please use

or [code=php:0] tags. [[ic][/ic]quote]s pale in comparison.