Little help needed with a checkbox...

kelemvor

Howdy,

I'm a complete newb at PHP but I have some code that I'm trying to modify and am not having any luck.  It's basically a form with some options and I added a checkbox that I just need to check if it's checked or not.

Some of the checks it currently does are setup in the format of:

if (!empty($data['date_filter'])) {

if (isset($data['start']) || isset($data['limit'])) {

I have a checkbox configured as:

<input type"checkbox" name="filter_cust" value=""></td>

I tried an if statement setup as:

if (isset($data['filter_cust'])) {

However it doesn't seem to see that the checkbox is checked and do what I need it to do.  Is there a different formatting I should be using to check if a checkbox is checked?

Thanks!

Checkboxes are only submitted if they are checked. So your logic using isset() should work. The only issue I see is that there is no value provided in the HTML, so there is nothing to submit if it is checked. You might try:

<input type"checkbox" name="filter_cust" value="1">
This assumes that somewhere you have copied the data from $_POST to $data. You might check the code that does that copy to see if it is only copying specific keys.

Ah, I did find the data array and added that in but ran into some other trouble.  Looks like thsi is going to get complicated pretty quick.  heh.  I think I might just do it manually as it involves 3 or 4 files talking back and forth doing things I don't understand.  :)

Thanks for the help.

If anyone is really bored and wants to decipher this whole thing for me, let me know and I'll provide the files.  But it looks to be a bit more involved as it's creating an sql query and then passing the results somehwere to then create the ouput etc.

I think I'll just run the query manually since I know that works. :)

Edited by kelemvor

Hmm, guess I can't edit my psot after a certain time?  Anyway, I'm back with more info.