Asigning User(s) To Group Upon Registration

Azercii

Firstly, I'm new to PhP, so I truly apologize if I'm a headache and make you want to put a fist through your screen :happy-04: haha

I'm slowly creating a community site, and need some advice on something, if I may? I would like users to be put into the user_group database as "member" by default upon registering, but I can't seem to get my head round it  :-\

Currently, I have a table on my "memberlist" page with;

<td width="115px" class="Members" align="center"><?php echo htmlentities($row['username'], ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8'); ?></td>

<td width="115px" class="Members" align="center"><?php echo htmlentities($row['user_group'], ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8'); ?></td>

But I'm having to edit the database each time a new user signs up because it's not in-putted via the form  :-\

(Forgive me if I now seem a little newbiie)

I was thinking that it might be an if function on the register page? Something like;

If the user clicks submit, and the registration is successful, input member into the users user_group field

But in PhP obviously  :tease-03: I already have user_level in my database, which is default to 0 anyway, I would just like the users to have a "group" like forums  :sweat:

How would I go about this? I'm okay with creating databases, and/or inputting data into them via MySQL. PhP might need a little dumb down though  :confused:

You have a process around creating the user. That process may entail a confirmation process or something as well. Just determine at what point in that process that you want to add them to the group and, well, add them by running a query. You could do it right after creating the user int he database if you want. This is not something you would handle through the form/HTML.