Why is "Array" Being Echoed out

trevzilla

So I'm kind of new to PHP, and have been having lots of success, but I have no idea why this is occuring. It's probably a super easy answer...

I have a form that has checkboxes. Essentially I am echoing out the results of which ever checkboxes the user checks. Here's my code...

if(!empty($_POST[$i])){
        foreach($_POST[$i] as $check){
	$answer .= $check;
}
echo $answer;

And the result that is echoed out says this..

ArraySF6Nitrogen

(SF6 is one of the checkboxes that was selected, and Nitrogen is the other checkbox that was selected)

I would be incredibly happy if the echoed out result just said SF6Nitrogen

My question is why does it say "Array" first?

Edited by trevzilla

Actually it is in a loop...Sorry, I thought this bit of code was unnessary to include, but here is the entire loop, etc.

for($i=1; $i<=$totalquest; $i++){

if(!empty($_POST[$i])){
	foreach($_POST[$i] as $check){
	$answer .= $check;
	}
	echo $answer;
	if($check!=$correct[$i]){
	$WrongAnswers .= "<b>You answered Question $i incorrectly:</b><br>$question[$i]<br>You answered: $answer<br>The correct answer is: $correct[$i]<br>$explanation[$i]<p>";

$score=$score-1;

}

}

}

You are looping thru the entire POST array, not just the checkboxes array.  Assuming that your html name field for the checkboxes is "cbox[]" this is all the code you need to list the checkboxes that are checked:

$ans = '';
foreach ($_POST['cbox'] as $cb_value)
   $ans  .= $cb_value .'<br>'; 

echo $ans;

It says array first because of two possible reasons that I can think of:

1. There is an echo/print somewhere before this code that is outputting that content OR

2. The first element of $_POST[$i] is a sub-array.