Check database for a value

RedInjection

Hello all,

if (isset($_POST['resetpassword'])) {
    //$sql = "SELECT email FROM users WHERE email LIKE '{$_POST['email']}' LIMIT 1";
	$result = mysql_query("SELECT email FROM users WHERE email LIKE '{$_POST['email']}' LIMIT 1");
    // Help needed here
        echo "Password has been sent to <b>{$_POST['email']}";
    } else {
        echo "mail does not exist;
    }
}

I have a form that when submitted I would like to check an email exists and then prints yes or no, I have been trying different methods to try and check how to do this? I am very new to learning and I have tried  numerous ways but keep showing as not working... Any help or suggestions would really help me to understand this really simple yet troubling query for me!!

Thank you in advance for your help

You don't check anything. You set up a UNIQUE constraint on the e-mail column, try to insert the new row, and if that leads to a constraint violation, you know the e-mail address is already taken. See this post:

Using UNIQUE constraints to prevent duplicate values.

Also see my comment in your previous thread:

Your code is wide open to SQL injection attacks.

Thanks for your suggestion - Interesting I didn't think to try this.

if (isset($_POST['resetpassword'])) {
    if ($mysqli->connect_errno) {
        echo "<p>MySQL error no {$mysqli->connect_errno} : {$mysqli->connect_error}</p>";
        exit();
    }
    $sql = "SELECT email FROM users WHERE email LIKE '{$_POST['email']}' LIMIT 1";
    if ($result = $mysqli->query($sql)) {
        $user = $result->fetch_array();
    } else {
        echo "<p>MySQL error no {$mysqli->errno} : {$mysqli->error}</p>";
        exit();
    }
    if ($result->num_rows == 1) {
        echo "<font color=green><p>Password has been sent to <b>{$_POST['email']}</b></p></font>";
    } else {
        echo "<font color=red><p>Email does not exist</p></font>";
    }
}