Scraping page for link, then scraping that link's page for another link

L1GH7

Hello all,

I'm not new to coding, but I'm pretty new to php. What I need to do is scrape A.php for a link to B.php, and then scrape B.php for a link to C.php so I can then scrape data from C.php- and push said data out to X.php because A.php is dynamic.

Here is an example of my current code with which I am obtaining the desired link to B.php from A.php:

<?php
    require('simple_html_dom.php');

$html = file_get_html('http://test.com/');

$i = 1;
    foreach ($html->find('tr') as $desiredItem)
    {
        if ($i > 2) {
            break;
        }

// Find link element
    $desiredItemDetails = $desiredItem->find('a.tag', 0);

// Get href attribute
    $desiredItemUrl = 'test.com/' . $desiredItemDetails->href;

$i++;
    }

echo ($desiredItemUrl);
?>

I've tried re-initializing $html by passing $desiredItemUrl through file_get_html. This doesn't seem to work, even if I call it as a string.

Is this not possible? Is there simply an easier/more efficient way of doing this? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Thanks for the quick reply,

A.php and B.php are on my site, but the link I need to traverse to in B.php is actually an external domain I have no control over.

And X.php is actually X.html right now as I'm unsure how to go about this. Because A.php is dynamic, I was under the impression I would need to begin from there.

So I'm about 95% sure that this process you're describing is either way convoluted or flat out the wrong approach to this.

Can you be more precise than these A/B/C/X.php files and scraping links and pushing data?

Basically, if you control A.php and B.php then there's no reason why B should have to scrape anything from A - you could just copy the code or logic or whatever that A is using into B. B gets what it needs naturally. Not sure what C or X are supposed to be.