[SOLVED] Hey all - 1st post -- Need Help

Cascade

Hey everyone
this is my first post and im looking for help
im new to running a server and am having trouble setting it up.
I am trying to make a web server so that i can host multiple web sites each with multiple pages on the same server. i guess i should start by talking about the server
its got a 3.2 Ghz Intel CPU -- quick enough for what i need
2 GB of RAM
200 GB IDE Hard Drive
DVD-Rom Drive
It currently has Windows XP Installed but this could be changed if what im doing is wrong.

The Server is connected to the internet via a network that goes like this

Phone Line --- Netgear ADSL Modem Router DG834 ---- Netgear 5 port 10/100 Mbps Switch FS605 , Port 1 of the switch is taken by the line from the modem to the switch , port 2 has a Netgear 108 Mbps Wireless Firewall Router WGT624 , which is directly connected to my actual PC.

Then i have port 3 of the switch connect directly to the server via a network cable oviously.
The Server has an internet connection as i would expect but all atempts to set up the server have failed beacuse no one outside my network is able to access it

I would be most greatful if someone could tell me where i am going wrong and give detailed easy to follow instructions on how to do it right , in the end all i want to do is have a server to host the websites that i produce.

Also it would be helpful to know what software i should be using on the server , as you can tell i am new to this so please take it slow and help me as ill be most greatfull for your advice and guidance

I have been told that Apache is the best to use for this , am i right in doing so , also instructions on which apache files to download and how to install them would be great

Thank you for your time
Cascade
aka John

i went to www.grc.com and used that shields up tool to check my ports , they all came up as Green which was Stealthed , im guessing this means there not open.