Can you solve 4 queens problem without using 2d arrays, recursion/backtracking? Just display 1 such solution.

oslon

no arrays, recursion/backtracking?

I had to research what is meant by "4 queens problem". I am not a chess player and i'm a self taught coder. If i am understanding the rules correctly: one per diagonal per row. m4 x n4 and four queens. I would convert the vertices using pythagorean theorem to find the diagonals. Place your marks and store the row and column in a variable. It would be much faster than recursion and arrays anyway. One solution is what you mentioned.

3 hours ago, requinix said:

Pythagorean theorem? What?

Describe the solution you have in mind and we'll figure out how to convert it into code.

Here is my solution.

(I only need to find 1 such solution)

Place a queen on board when there is no conflict with the other queen(diagonalwise, row-wise, col-wise)

Do this till you reach the last column.

If there is conflict, reset and start again.

public class Example {
    public static void main(String[] args) {
        int rows = 4;
        int cols = 4;
        int[] queens = {-1, -1, -1, -1, -1, -1, -1, -1};
        displayBoard(rows, cols);

}

public static void displayBoard(int r, int c) {
        for (int i = 0; i < r; i++) {
            for (int j = 0; j < c; j++) {
                System.out.print("| ");
            }
            System.out.print("|");
            System.out.println();
        }
    }
}

So far I've got upto here but I am unable to process further code. Please don't provide chatgpt solution as my goal is to learn not to solve this problem.

13 minutes ago, oslon said:

Place a queen on board when there is no conflict with the other queen(diagonalwise, row-wise, col-wise)

But where? How do you decide where to make each move? And how do you make sure you don't make the same set of moves in future attempts?

15 minutes ago, oslon said:

If there is conflict, reset and start again.