Hosting multiple wesites in same webspace

Bunyip

Hi,

I have some webspace that I'm trying to use to host multiple websites - so I don't have to pay for additional hosting for each domain. I have 2 domain names that are pointing to the same webspace. I am a PHP novice, but did find some code that I have put in the index.php file that redirects to the appropriate site depending on what the user has typed in the address bar:

[code]<?php
switch ($HTTP_HOST) {
    case "www.domain1.com":
        header("Location: http://www.domain1/folder1");
        break;
    case "www.domain2.com":
        header("Location: http://www.domain1/folder2");
        break;
}
?>[/code]
The problem with this is that the user who has gone to www.domain2.com sees that they have been redirected to www.domain1/folder2.

Instead of a redirection, is there any way with a combination of PHP and frames that I can read what URL the user has typed in the address bar and display the relevant page, but masking that they are looking at a subfolder of a differen domain?

In other words, the user who types in www.domain2.com must still see www.domain2.com in the address bar, even though they are looking at www.domain1/folder2.

Thanks.

[quote author=thorpe link=topic=120622.msg494965#msg494965 date=1167699621]
I dont think you can really do this with php, the request has already gone to far by this stage. You need to look into Apache's virtual hosts, but yeah, if your on a shared server its not going to happen.
[/quote]
Thanks for your reply. The concept of what I was thinking of was to use a frame in the index file to mask the source and use PHP to define the source of the frame contents.

The html in the index file for the frame would be something like this - a common technique for domain masking:

[CODE]<_frameset_rows="100%,0" border="0">
<_frame_ src="http://www.domain1/folder2/index.html" frameborder="0">
<_frame_ frameborder="0">
< /frameset>[/CODE]