How to know if a picture exists or not

Clay Trainor

Hi, im very very new to php, and have only been reading up on it for a couple of days.

im trying to get custom pictures on my website based on how the user was directed there.  i.e.  if he clicked a link that says www.mysite.com/index.php?key=Gears%20Of%20War i use key to find "Gears of War.jpg" and display it on the page.  Alot of the links that visitors may click will not have a picture designated for them, so i want a default picture to show when "Gears of War.jpg" does not exist.

im assuming i need an if statement of some sort.  How exactly would i go about doing this?

thanks for your help

I simple example would be to do the following, you'll need to do a bit moer work on it to make it suitable for production use, but that's the basic theory.

<?php
$img = (is_file($filepath)) ? $filepath : "images/default.gif";
?>

<?php

$img = (is_file($filepath)) ? $filepath : "images/default.gif";

?>

Im not entirely sure what this code means.

is it checking to see if "images/default.gif" exists?

Sorry, that is what's called a terneray operator - It has the same effect as an if/else statement, like so:

<?php
$filepath = "path/to/where/i/am/checking/for/images.gif";
if(is_file($filepath)) {
    $img = $filepath;
} else {
    $img = "images/default.gif";
}
?>

I personally would use file_exists(), but it has the same effect i think:

The only problem with using file_exists() is that it checks for both directories and files, which has the possibility of tripping you up in the future and you spending time figuring out why it's doing something you thought it shouldn't!

<?php $keyword = htmlspecialchars($_GET['key']); 

$filename = "http://www.mysite.com/pictures/tvshowdvd/<?php echo $keyword; ?>.jpg" ;

if (is_file($filename)) {
   $img = $filename ;

} else

{
   $img = "http://www.zatznotfunny.com/wordpress/wp-content/netflix.gif" ;
}