[SOLVED] Cookie Problem?

drdapoo

Greetings,

Ive been trying to figure out this problem for a while and I admit im stumped. Even though im really new to php I tried to research this (google and all) but I honestly dont know what to look for and dont know where to find the solution.

Here is my code. I am trying to compare the session ID with the cookie that the session generates. The way I have it setup is that a previous page creates the session and is then redirected to another page where this code is located.

<?php

session_start();

$bob = session_id();

$john = $_COOKIE["cookiesessionID"];

if ( $bob == $john )

{

echo "yes it is alive";

}

else

{

echo "No its not!";

}

?>

When I try to execute this code the first time around the if statement is false because the cookie isnt being read. I have my session time limit set to 5 minutes so I know thats not the problem. I looked on my apache error log file and saw that its spitting out the fallowing error

PHP Notice:  Undefined index:  cookiesessionID

I have to reload the page for it to work properly. I'm really at a loss here, I dont know what the problem is. Any suggestions?

To remove the error do:

if(isset($_COOKIE['cookiesessionID'])){
//cookie is set
}else{
//cookie is not set
}

Why it's not working if you changed the name, I can't tell. If you are using Firefox you can view what cookies are set. Do you allow cookies to be set on your browser?

Why it's not working if you changed the name, I can't tell. If you are using Firefox you can view what cookies are set. Do you allow cookies to be set on your browser?

Yes I do. I've even gone and checked firefox to make sure its getting the cookie, which it is.