load info once from external page

atomicrabbit

I am creating a list in table rows. When the row is clicked, it expands to show extra information or contracts to hide it. The extra information is loaded from an external page on the internet. What I would like to do is load the information for each item when the row is expanded. Then If that same row is closed/contracted, the information stays there and doesn't get reloaded when the item is opened again. I know this will involved a bit of javascript and I already coded the javascript to expand/contract the table row. All I want to do is have the ability to load each item once, when it is needed, and not have to load it again (maybe unless the page is reloaded)

I am not an expert in php, but I know a good amount to get me by. That being said, can someone provide suggestions if what I am asking is not a smart idea. Maybe cache the information that is read and always use the cached info but be able to update the information from the external page if needed. Again, I am just throwing around ideas and I don't know how to accomplish most of it. Any suggestions welcome. thanks

For simple show/hide i use a code like:

onClick="this.styles.display='none'"

A simple if statement to get the state and u make it with display=none and display=block. In this way u have the information loaded only when the page is loaded. Hope it helped.

oh.. yes yes.. Like I said. I already coded the javascript part that shows/hides the table. But I need to load info that will go into the hidden table row, from another site. But I don't want to load the info EVERY time the user clicks to show the row. I want it to load ONCE the first time the user shows it, and then the user should be able to show/hide the info as many times as they want without it reading from the external site again.