There's some nasty people out there

Just reading through some threads and am amazed at how nasty some posters can be especially to people who are just asking for advice. After all I thought that's what this forum is all about ... helping others. I realise that sometimes people ask what seem to be stupid questions, but there's no need for blatant hostility. We all have to go through the learning curve. I guess all forums are the same ... most members are there for the right reason and there are always the bad few to muddy up the water and give the newbies grief. Pity I'm a newbie.  :-[

Yves the problem is a lot of us new members will go elsewhere if we get flamed, found this site after having an altercation at another site with one of their "gurus" who simply put answers as links to the php manual quite often not even bothering to read what the actual question was.  When I pointed out to him this wasn't overly helpful to us new folk, believe it not we do check the manual but often don't know what we are looking for, it was on for young and old.

I help out at an IPB support forum, and our policy is there are no stupid questions, stupid is not asking if you don't know something.

Thus far really impressed with this site :)

Could I ask for an intros forum? Would help newbies like myself to meet and grate the crew here.

i dont think an entire forum is warranted, although there's a topic here that's exactly for introductions and getting to know everyone: http://www.phpfreaks.com/forums/index.php/topic,112560.0.html