creating a profile site need a little help

runnerjp

hey guys...

i know how to enter data into database look it up and change it ect ect... what im wondering is how can i make it so each user gets there own page to come up with there profile on.... hard to explain but example

when you sign onto facebook your own profile comes onto the screen... is there away in which i can creat 1 page to fit all but user persific stuff will apear on page??

hope that makes sense... any websites point in directions anything will be helpfull.. as im new to this as much information a spossible would be nice also examples to follow... alot i know but i know you guys are the ones to ask :D

thankyou

ok. What you could do is have the logon script that calls on a username and password from the database. This is to validate their logo details. In the table that stores the users details you should place an profile ID. This links the users indivdual profile page to them.

Once logged in you redirect the user to a new page. In this page you can use the POST method to get the users details and then use them to display there profile via a query on the database using the users details.

I hope this makes sense

when a new user registers you will set your script up to automatically add there details to the logon table and add an default profile to the profile database. This default profile will be the bear basics of a profile page i.e title and description. You wont need two databases. Just one database with two tables, like below

Table 1 ~ User

User ID

Username

Password

Name

Profile id

Table 2 ~ Profile

Profile ID

Title

Description

This is very possible, as you already know...

Can you do it? Well, if you have nothing so far, it might not be looking good... you're talking about an extremely complicated setup (anything on a per-user basis gets complicated fast).