a few php and mysql questions

amylisa

hey :) I'm very new to this and really dont know much about mysql yet, I've tried looking for a tutorial but i cant seem to find one that explains these , I'll explain what i'm trying to do and hopfully someone here can help me :)

1- I'm trying to write a code that will get all the data from a mysql table and display it in an html table the data is stored in the mysql table as a single number , instead of the html showing the number I want to change it to a block of color to fill the table cell. eg. if the mysql result is 1 the table cell will be filled with blue.

question -  How do I actually get this to display as a color instead of a number?

2- I'm trying to write a script that will select the newest 10 values (from the 10 bottom rows)from a mysql table and store them in an array.

I have no idea on this one , i dont know how to select only the 10 newest rows and i cant seem to get a script working to store them in an array , I keep getting errors or blank pages.

question - How do I make it select only the newest 10 values? and how do I store the results in an array?

I would really appreciate  any help with this or a link to a tutorial that would help me.

Thank you in advance :)

1. You would need to use some sort of parser to switch values from a number to a colour. eg;

<?php

$val = 3;
  switch ($val) {
    case 1:
      $ret = 'black';
      break;
    case 2:
      $ret = 'blue';
      break;
    case 3:
      $ret = 'white';
      break;
  }

echo $ret;

?>

2 You will need to store your records allong with a timestamp, then simply sort by that timestamp. eg;

SELECT foo FROM tbl ORDER BY stamp DESC LIMIT 10;

Hey I was at your stage not long ago (few months) it would be hard just to give code and assume you will understand it.

Try Using w3schols php tutorials they will take you through the basics. Thats what I did.

But...

1. basically you will need a .php/.html page.