quick question with "for"

mrbuter

Hey there, I'm pretty new with php so im just wondering why this line of code doesn't work

$results_text = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM questions") or die(mysql_error());
$nbr_rangees = mysql_num_rows($results_text);
mysql_query("INSERT INTO `users` (" . for($i=0;$i<$nbr_rangees;$i++){ echo "`" . mysql_result($results_text,$i,"id") . "`,"; } . ") VALUES (" . for($i=0;$i<$nbr_rangees;$i++){ echo "'$" . mysql_result($results_text,$i,"name") . "', "; } . ")") or die(mysql_error());

I made two seperate tests with the "for" codes I used (i.e. a file with just

$results_text = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM questions") or die(mysql_error());
$nbr_rangees = mysql_num_rows($results_text);
for($i=0;$i<$nbr_rangees;$i++){ echo "'$" . mysql_result($results_text,$i,"name") . "', "; }

)

and it outputted the stuff correctly so I figured it would work in the query.

But when I try and run the file with the mysql_query and the fors it says:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_FOR in blablabla/bla.php on line 39

How can I get around this?

Thanks in advance.

As SemiApocalyptic said, you cannot use a for loop in such a context. this is one way how you can do it:

$sql_text = "INSERT INTO .... ";

for( $i = 0; $i < $nbr_rangees; $i++ )
{
      $sql_text .= "text for each iteration";
}

$sql_text .= "rest of the query";

mysql_query( $sql_text );

Alright I've got this so far

$sql_text = "INSERT INTO `users` (";

{
      $sql_text .= "`" . mysql_result($results_text,$i,"id") . "`,";
}

$sql_text .= ") VALUES (";

{
      $sql_text .= "'$" . mysql_result($results_text,$i,"name") . "', ";
}

$sql_text .= ")";

mysql_query( $sql_text ) or die(mysql_error());

But there seem to be two problems. The first of which is that I'm getting an error (dur)