Best practice for developing and maintaining a project

gortron

I am a PHP / mySQL developer and I manage the ongoing development of a content management system for the company I work with.

I'd like to manage the project as effectively as possible and I would like to get some advise in this area.

Can anyone recommend a specific approach to development? For example should I use CSV? Is there an recommended method to document new features, feature requests, milestones, roll outs of updates?

My main concern is if I repair or update a clients copy of our application, how do I ensure each other client receives the same update? Is there a recommended process for this?

Thank you in advance to anyone who can give me some help or advise in this area.

You're talking about a lot of different things here. I'll give some ideas though.

I've never been a big fan of CVS or SVN, but if the project is large enough, or has multiple people working on it, then it can make sense.

Approach to development? Again it depends on the particular project at hand. If you are 1 man doing the work, then the waterfall model makes the most sense. When you're one guy, A has to happen before B, etc. Everything is linear. That being said, I like waterfall even for team projects. It forces clients to commit to something before you move on. Otherwise 3/4 of the way through the project they try to change things and you have to retrofit it in. Sometimes you've got to do this anyways, but if you have required them to signoff you have a leg to stand on, some of the other models don't really promote this.