<?PHP include virtual("root relative url"); ?>

irvine

I am fairly new to PHP so this is probably a bit basic. I am using Zen Cart as a module of a larger site and using

<!-- comment out supplied headers/menus -->

<?PHP include virtual("root relative url"); ?>  <!-- My stuff -->

<!-- return to zen cart header... -->

I have redirected all the headers and menus of the Zen Cart module to my headers and menus. This works! No Problems

When I go onto my main index page and use exactly the same line of code, the header and footers are sent out to the browser, So it is working!. But, I am also getting the following error messages

Warning: include(1) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in C:\xampp\htdocs\my-site\index.php on line 11

and

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '1' for inclusion (include_path='.;C:\xampp\php\pear\') in C:\xampp\htdocs\my-site\index.php on line 11

Could somebody please explain what the problem is and why I don't get the error messages when the functions are call from inside the Zen Cart module

Thanks for the quick reply, this is the page in total. Once I sort out the problem with headers and footers, I will use this as a page template and fill in the blank bit between the PHP includes.

<html>
<body style="color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: rgb(0, 0, 0);" alink="#000099" link="#000099" vlink="#990099">
<table style="text-align: left; background-color: rgb(192, 192, 192); width: 100%;" border="0" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0">
  <tbody>
    <tr>
      <td style="background-color: rgb(192, 192, 192);">
<?php include virtual("/new-site/includes/header.shtml");?><br>
      <br>
<?php include virtual("/new-site/includes/footer.shtml");?></td>
    </tr>
   </tbody>
</table>
</body>
</html>

I get the same error messages for both lines of PHP, so  I didn't post the errors for PHP include footer