Cleanest way to have wildcard subdomain mirror a domain

fitguydan

My service allows users to generate subdomains based off their username(testguy.mydomain.com). I've created a wildcard subdomain for this, so the dynamic subdomains work wonderfully.

I've added a parked domain where my domain is supposed to mirror the given subdomain. However, when I go to the domain.com, it redirects to the subdomain, changing the URL in the address bar. Any ideas?

Or if there a better way to mirror a subdomain while showing the original domain in the address bar?

Edited by fitguydan

Apache does not have the suPHP module loaded. It's that simple. Talk to your hosting company to see what's up with it.

Haha, I actually fixed that initial problem from my thread and edited my post to a different, but similar problem. 

UPDATE:

I found some code that appears to work exactly as I wanted, but since I'm very new to this process, is this a bad way to do it? Or a better question: is there a better or more efficient way to do this?

Basically, I added the domain.com to my server through WHM. And in the root directory of the newly added domain, the only file is the htaccess file and in it(among a few security lines), there is:

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(www.)?newdomain\.com$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://test.othersite.com/$1 [P,L,NC,QSA]

It works, but like I said, is there a cleaner or better way to do this?

There would only be a redirect if there was something telling Apache (or maybe it's in your code?) to do so. I don't know enough about your system to tell you where that is. If it's not code then often it's in a .htaccess; in this case there would be something very much like what you've just posted:

RewriteCond <if the HTTP_HOST is not the subdomain>
RewriteRule <to the subdomain>
The domain would have to be pointing (DocumentRoot) to the same location as the subdomain, thus the .htaccess would kick in and redirect.

If it's in code then it could be anything, anywhere.