I need help bulding a form to send info to a mysql DB and a page to display it pls

Michael_Baxter

Hi I have tried and tried and tried again to get this to work

in simple terms I have very little knowledge with PHP and even less with mysql

I have a paid subscription and domain in order to learn more and I feel I have made ok progress so far

then I realised how unsafe my current work is;

here is my experience this far

I created a site for a group of voluntary online game hosts where they can posts points from their tournaments in a forum

and some info pages to go with this,

however what I did was create a base template and style sheet and then an admin dashboard linked to individual forms to allow the group admin to edit the info pages they go to my form and enter the desired info and submit this then sends through and action file which posts the text and <BR> to a .txt file,

then the connecting page reads the .txt file using the PHP code of " <? php include ( 'index.txt'); ?>

yes you are seeing this correctly I have allowed a direct edit of text in a .txt file rather silly of me but I didn't realise how unsafe this was until now I guess its a good job I trust that the admin has no knowledge or skills in coding

ok since all this I have created a DB in MySQL on my server,

My server uses PHPMyAdmin I have create a DB named " mnvbcou1_content1 " and a table named " home " with rows " ID " and " home "

what I am trying to do:

I want my page to display the content of the table row home and a form once submitted to send to the table row home

or if needed I can re make this DB if the names are not suitable

I have tried to create the needed coding to make this work but for some reason this just will not work I have already added 2 rows to my table to try and make the page to display the content but it just is not working I got an error every time