repopulate checkboxes help

glennn.php

i have a form with an array of checkboxes that i need to repopulate when returned to it to edit it. I've tried a few different means, but i'm still a novice at php.

can someone help me get the posted values back into the checkboxes that are originally checked? this doesn't work:

<input name="category[]" type="checkbox" value="1-Anatomic (AP)" <?php if($_POST['category'] == 1) echo "checked=\"checked\"; " ?> />
         Anatomic (AP)<br />
       <input name="category[]" type="checkbox" value="2-Anatomic & Clinical(AP/CP)" <?php if($_POST['category'] == 2) echo "checked=\"checked\"; " ?> />
         Anatomic & Clinical(AP/CP)<br />
        <input name="category[]" type="checkbox" value="3-Cardiovascular Pathology" <?php $category = $_POST['category']; if($category == '3') echo "checked=\"checked\"; " ?> />
         Cardiovascular Pathology<br />

thanks in advance,

GN

You seem to be using the array equivalent of category instead of just "category".  Either try using just the name category, instead of category[], or in your <?php echo ?>, or use $_POST['category[0]'] == "1-Anatomic (AP)").

Note: the value you are checking must match exactly the value passed from the checkbox field.

If your browsing around the page for sometime I don't think $_POST will work. (someone correct me if I am wrong). I think that the variables won't be 'set' after you click submit and leave the area. I would suggest using $_SESSION variables to store current work and then if you go back to edit pull your check/unchecked values from the session variables.

Also, like phorman stated your getting information from wrong input names. Try to name your checkboxes something like name="1" value="1-Anatomic (AP)" and then test like this:

<?php
if($_POST['1'] == "1-Anatomic \(AP\)")$box1 = "CHECKED";

//Input will look like:

echo "<input name='1' type='checkbox' value='1-Anatomic (AP)' checked='$box1'/>";
?>