Odd IE error

KevinM1

So, I'm currently expanding my JavaScript library.  Basically, it's a bunch of functions found elsewhere that I want in a centralized location.  I've gone the route of creating namespaces for each logical division of my library.  So, there's a global namespace, a DOM namespace, a form namespace, etc.  The specialized namespaces (DOM, form, etc) are children of the global namespace.

I'm currently trying my hand at some AJAX stuff.  Right now, I have one function designed to return to me a proper XMLHttpRequest object or ActiveXObject depending on the browser.  As always, it works in Firefox, but not IE7.  So, here's the relevant part of my library (apologies for the lack of indents...Notepad++ indents don't seem to copy over correctly):

/**
*This is my first attempt at building a JavaScript library.
*While most of my code will use a pre-existing library (YUI, Scriptaculous, JQuery, Prototype, or Moo.fx), 
*I still have other helper functions I'd like to use.
*Date: May 19, 2008
*/

/**
*Global namespace
*/

var MP = {};

//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MP.ajax =
{
/**
 *Function that equalizes XMLHttpRequest objects.
 *Arguments:
 *None
 *Return value:
 *@xmlHttp - either a new XMLHttpRequest object (if IE7, Mozilla, Safari, or Opera),  a new ActiveXObject (if IE's < 7), or null (if none of the above).
 *Original Code:
 *From "Building Responsive Web Applications: AJAX and PHP" by Christian Darie et al.
 */

createXmlHttpRequestObject : function()
{
	var xmlHttp;

try
	{
		//try the easy way first
		xmlHttp = new XMLHttpRequest();
	}
	catch(e)
	{
		//try the hard way next (IE6 or older)
		var XmlVersions = new Array('MSXML2.XMLHTTP.6.0',
											 'MSXML2.XMLHTTP.5.0',
											 'MSXML2.XMLHTTP.4.0',
											 'MSXML2.XMLHTTP.3.0',
											 'MSXML2.XMLHTTP',
											 'Microsoft.XMLHTTP');

//try every version until we get one that works