[SOLVED] GET and POST

ngreenwood6

I am new to ajax so I have a quick question for someone that works with it quite often. I know that with php it is better to use post when submitting userdata that you dont want anyone to see because it is posted in the url. However, when I use the get command in ajax it doesnt post anything in the url. So would it be ok to use GET to use the userdata that you dont want anyone to see or is it better to use the POST. Thanks for any help

Ok thank you for the response. Can you show me an example of how to use the post then because I can use the get but I am not quite sure how to use the post. I am in the process of reading a book and it shows good examples of the get but not the post which is weird because all of the php books show the post and a little get. Anyways looked on google for a good example but they want to make everything complex. Any help is appreciated once again F1Fan!!

Posting data to PHP works really well, but it also requires a page to be reloaded. Using AJAX is for submitting and receiving PHP data WITHOUT reloading a page. So really, using AJAX you're not using a form with traditional GET or POST. It works more like the GET method, but not exactly. List your code and tell us more of what you're trying to do.

I know how to do a php post. That is why I am in the AJAX forum. I am looking for how to submit the request to the php page in AJAX. Also would the php page then use post or get?

Sorry, I think I'm brain dead today... 

Say I had this function

function submitUser(str)
{

var url="get.php";
url=url+"?username="+str;
url=url+"&sid="+Math.random();
xmlHttp.onreadystatechange=stateChanged;
xmlHttp.open("GET",url,true)
xmlHttp.send(null)

then i had this php page

<?php

//database variables
$host = "localhost";
$user = "user";
$pass = "pass";
$db = "database";

//get from the form
$username = $_GET['username'];

//connect to database
mysql_connect($localhost,$user,$pass);

//select database