[SOLVED] New to OOP

Archadian

I am getting this error and don't know why. I am new to OOP and trying to learn the language. If anyone has any tips or some easy way to learn it would be very much appreciated. Here is the error:

Warning: Missing argument 1 for Message::Message(), called in F:\Inetpub\wwwroot\ooptest.php on line 15 and defined in F:\Inetpub\wwwroot\oop.php on line 8

And here is the code:

ooptest.php

<html>

<head>

<title>The Cabal Online Guide</title>

</head>

<body>

<?php

include('oop.php');

$message = "Test Message!"; //Line 15

$mess =& new Message;
$mess->body($message);
$see = $mess->body();

echo "<table align=\"center\" valign=\"middle\" cellspacing=\"0\" cellpadding=\"0\" border=\"0\" height=\"45\">";

echo "<tr>";
echo "<td align=\"center\" width=\"589\" height=\"45\" border=\"0\">" . $see . "</td>";
echo "</tr>";

echo "</table>";

?>

</body></html>

oop.php

<?php

class Message
{

var $message = '';

function Message($body){  //Line 8

$this->message = $body;

}

function body(){

return $this->message;

}

}

?>

Well, there are several things at play here.

First, you don't initialize your object correctly.  You should write:

$mess =& new Message($message);

Why?  Because of your constructor:

function Message($body){  //Line 8

$this->message = $body;

}

Since you defined a constructor for your object, it's expecting you to pass to it the one parameter defined in its signature ($body).  Even if you didn't define your own constructor, you'd still need to instantiate the object like so:

$mess =& new Message();

Object creation always invokes an object constructor, which, in turn, is a function.  Since it's a function, you need the parentheses.